Consumer Protection: The Homeowners’ Choice Awards

Latest News

Consumer Protection: The Homeowners’ Choice Awards

In the world of movies, an Oscar is considered the pinnacle of achievement. And yet, recipients are not chosen by the movie-going public but rather by movie industry insiders. In contrast, the People’s Choice Awards are voted on by the public who actually watch the nominated movies and TV shows.

The Homeowners’ Choice Awards are like the People’s Choice Awards for builders. In fact, they are the only awards that give Ontario new homeowners the power to have their builder recognized for outstanding performance.

A new home is one of life’s biggest investments and a homeowner’s relationship with their builder lasts long after the keys change hands. This is why customer service is so important. A happy homeowner is the best advertisement for any builder.

Each year, Tarion gives Ontario home buyers the opportunity to rate their builders’ performance before, during and after they move into their new home. We sent surveys to 56,929 new home buyers and more than 11,500 weighed in with their opinions and chose the recipients for outstanding customer service in four categories: Small, Medium, Large Volume and High-Rise. To see a full list of the finalists, visit

The following were our 2018 Homeowners’ Choice recipients:

  • Small Volume Category: Kolody Homes, Belle River
  • Medium Volume Category: Talos Custom Homes Ltd., Richmond
  • Large Volume Category: Hayhoe Homes, St. Thomas
  • High-Rise Category: Plazacorp Investments, Toronto

In the entertainment industry, there are also lifetime achievement awards given to those whose exemplary commitment and accomplishments have stood the test of time. We have our own version – the Ernest Assaly Award — that goes to the builder who demonstrates a longstanding commitment to not only creating a quality home for their customers but also nurturing the people who build that home and investing in the community that surrounds it.

Like a lifetime achievement award, a builder can only earn this honour once and the recipient is chosen by a committee from a shortlist of builders who meet the rigorous criteria required to be invited to participate. This award recognizes the highest level of excellence in Ontario home building while honouring the legacy of Ernest Assaly, a highly respected leader in the residential building industry who was Tarion’s first Board Chair.

The recipient of the Ernest Assaly Award is: Tridel, Toronto.

Tarion congratulates all the 2018 award recipients for achieving greatness in the eyes of their customers and, by doing so, instilling confidence in the new home buying experience across Ontario.

HOWARD BOGACH is president and CEO of Tarion Warranty Corp., a private corporation established to protect the rights of new homebuyers and to regulate new home builders.


Featured Products